September 3, 2015 (Thurs) – Christmas in September? Let’s Hope Not.

Xmas Sept 3I may actually beat Target and Costco to the punch in mentioning the “C” word (Christmas, not cancer) this early in the season, and especially before Labor Day. And I’m sure there are people who would appreciate having Christmas come early. I’m just not one of them, for reasons described momentarily.

I just realized that I haven’t posted a blog in over a month. Wow. Been crazy busy at work so I guess that’s a good thing. My wife may beg to differ but hey, I’m still working full time. Plus some. Beats the alternative.

Last I left you, I was powering down a less-than-scrumptious club sandwich. Well, tomorrow we find out if I need to add another layer of Limburger Cheese. And if a fuzzy IS hiding out in the frozen tundra that is my right shoulder. Or anywhere else Human Christmas treefor that matter. Because of the uncertainty about some anomaly that showed up on my shoulder MRI, they are opting to go the whole nine yards and switch to a kitty-cat + PET scan this time around. It’s been a long time since I had one of those light-me-up radioactive sugar juice injection procedures. And that is where Christmas comes in. I really am not looking forward to a result that may have me mimicking a brightly lit LED covered (I’m nothing if not energy saving) tree. So getting lit, unlike during my college days, is not a positive thing.

Right now I am having a tough time typing this blog since I’ve been required to go on a low-carb diet all day so that no-carbs-sign-vectorfalse readings are kept to a minimum tomorrow. I guess my blood sugar must be low as I have a bit of the shakes. I never realized how tough it was for a carbivore like me to ignore the mashed potatoes I had to leave on my plate at Rotary today, the slice of birthday cake I had to pass up on in our office, or the handful of Cheez-its I was almost tempted to grab when I got home. Maybe after all of the tests tomorrow I’ll stop at KFC (that’s Kentucky Fried Chicken for you younger folks) to make up for lost time. OK Kim, just kidding…

Of course, prior to the Geiger counter clicking starting up, I have to have my regular brain MRI to check on Mr. Upstairs Fuzzy. And after those two are a wrap, head on over to UCSD for my every-twelve-week echo-echo-echocardiogram. Somewhere in that scheduling fray a regular blood workup needs to happen. And finally wrapping everything up with my regular onc-doc appointment in the late afternoon where I may, or may not get the results of my tests already. Nothing like getting everything out of the way at once. My luck, I will get the news the next day while out of town. Of course. Those of you that have been on board my fuzzy wagon for a while may recall the time I got the news while sitting on the tarmac at O’Hare Airport. That would be my infamous Chi-Town meltdown. But perhaps I’ll get good news instead and celebrate during my vacation/business trip.

InjectionAs for my shoulder, I was finally able to get approval for the fluoroscope-assisted steroid injection which I had earlier this week. Although “immediate relief” is a phrase that was dropped a lot as it relates to this procedure, I can’t say that I notice much of a difference yet. We shall see. It obviously doesn’t affect my golf swing as I actually had my second lowest round ever the other day. No numbers are being provided, however, as it really is embarrassing to claim what I had was a “good” score. But hey, I’ll take it.

I just realized that this whole blog has been a medical update. Yeech. Somebody slap my hand, will you? Or better yet, slap me upside the head. Maybe you’ll nail my fuzzy.

After all of the junk above, I must say that I am still feeling very good. My hips were giving me a bit of grief but that was self-induced and have mostly resolved themselves. My shoulder is still a question mark but overall I really cannot complain.

Off to see my sister-in-law perform this weekend in Berkeley. It will be a bit of a reunion with several family members meeting up for the event. Plus I will get to spend some quality time with my daughter in San Jose over the Labor Day weekend. Can’t wait.

Last but not least are the results of our third major remodel. Here are some pics (before and after) of our new master bath. My designer wife, who teaches PE, missed her calling.
Before and After 1 Before and After 2 Before and After 3

Business as usual. Day at a time.

10 thoughts on “September 3, 2015 (Thurs) – Christmas in September? Let’s Hope Not.

  1. Think good thoughts. Enjoy the precious time with your daughter and the bathroom looks great. We are in the middle of a major remodel in our master bath also. Should be done next week. Does your doctor have any concerns with remodeling and all the dust?
    Praying for a good result on the mri and pet scan.
    Donna

    Reply
  2. First things first: have a wonderful time with your family. I’ve got me a precious all-grown-up daughter, too, so I can appreciate how much you and your wife are looking forward to being with her.

    Ah yes, low carb eating. Welcome to my world these days, as I cope with Co-1686 induced hyperglycemia. My big discovery yesterday: I can eat croissants! Even a big one has only about 30 grams of carb, which I’ve learned is my cutoff for amount of carb in a single food item.

    I’m wishing you well with all the scans and hope that they rule out way more than they discover. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Reply
  3. Good thoughts going your way on all the tests. Give your “decorator” a congratulations on the nicely done bathroom remodel!! Looks great. Really like the shower idea.

    Reply
  4. Craig,
    Glad to see you are doing your part to keep our struggling medical testing industry afloat. We will pray for good results! Also praying for relief from your shoulder pain. I have had some bouts with shoulder bursitis that were quite painful. Must have been all that high school football, oops, I mean cross-country! You were the football King. Have fun on your trip up to the Bay Area and with your daughter. Hope to see you soon.

    Wes

    Reply
  5. Hey buddy ~ sending prayers for a great check up, lets us know the outcome. Enjoy that beautiful daughter of yours. Each is a gift, right? That’s why they call is the “present” Corny, well yes, but saying it to the King of Corny seems appropriate and it’s quite a true phrase me thinks 🙂
    Blessings over all (and the bathroom does look great, Kim!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

