December 26, 2014 (Fri) – What, Me Worry?

Alfred E NewmanWell, yeah. The past week or so has been a tough lead-up to my tests this morning. I have to admit I was more than a little concerned about what the findings might be. A lot of this stems from how crummy I’ve been feeling from my stupid cold/sinus infection. The symptoms mimicked those I had at the very start of my  journey two years ago. So my head was playing games with me. The other concern was about that amorphous non-specific area of my cerebellum that has been apparent the past two scans. So yeah, definitely some major scanxiety this time around.

I had no hopes that the results would be so quickly obtained. But this afternoon I went in for my monthly onc-doc appointment, and reminded the doc that I had the tests this morning. He said “well, let’s see if the Rockyresults are posted yet” as he logged onto his computer. The next thing I saw were his arms raised a-la-Rocky as he read the CT results. Yes, there is still some “stuff” in and around my lungs but there was no progression from the last scan 6 weeks ago. Or from the one 6 weeks before that. Once again, words like stable, unchanged, and unremarkable jumped off the screen. OK, that was extremely good news, but what about the MRI which has previously displayed that undefined something?

His arms remained in the air as he read that report next. The little 5-6mm brain fuzzy/dead fuzzy is still there but not having grown in the Thumbs uppast 3 months. More phrases like “there is no abnormal…” and “stable” might have well been in 20 point font as they again jumped off the monitor. However, I did note the phase that contained “mucosal thickening” and wondered about that mucus thing again. Hmmm.

But overall wonderful news and I amTsunami good to go for another 6 weeks. This A-team stuff (AZD9291) is my current hero. Keep staying ahead of the wave – that is the plan.

To break the tension last weekend while we were reading the morning paper, my wife says “well, I have some good news for you.” Little mopy me says, “what?”

“You’re not in today’s obituaries.”

OK, that helped put things back into perspective. Gotta love her. And I do.

Starting the year off right. I thank all of you once again for your positive comments, thoughts and prayers. May be celebrating with some Rombauer tomorrow night. OK, OK. No maybe about it.

Business as usual. Day at a time.

20 thoughts on “December 26, 2014 (Fri) – What, Me Worry?

  1. Yippee! This is GREAT news. Wonderful way to wrap up 2014; kick off 2015. Will keep the positive energy & healing thoughts heading your way. Cheers!

    Reply
  2. The Rocky song is singing in my head right now and I see YOU not Mr. Stalone on top of those steps in Philly…..Yeah Craig….awesome present to receive on Boxing Day….whatever the heck that really is….about to google it now. Enjoy lots of fine wine as this year winds down and drink nothing but the good stuff in the next year too. HAPPY New Year to you all.

    Reply
  3. Great news craig. I was getting nervous myself. Couldn’t have been better news. Merry Christmas and a happy new year. Martha in iowa

    Reply
  4. Our prayers for you have been answered, not that we have a direct connection and besides that Catholics know how to beg!! We will continue our prayers and truly wish you and Kim, Bradyn and Brett a wonderful New Year! Remember the invite….Washington was on the list of one of the healthiest places to live….good salmon and lots of fresh berries!

    Reply
  5. Terrific News Craig! Thanks for sharing it so quickly. Enjoy the rest of your holidays and I hope we will be seeing you soon.

    Wes

    Reply
  6. This post started out as a big smile out loud at your results and sequel into a laugh out loud when I read Kim’s comment! Great Christmas gift for you and all of us who care about you!!!

    Reply
  7. Hi Craig,
    I’ve been following your blog, and I’m so glad to read these happy news.
    Thank you for sharing your inspiring story.
    I wonder if there is an email address at which I could reach you?
    I currently work on an innovation project aiming to improve the lives and cares of lung cancer survivors, and I would love to share our ideas with you and possibly get your input on it.
    If you’re interested, please send me an email and I can tell you all about it 🙂
    Wishing you all the best,
    Marika

    Reply

Leave a Reply

