April 24, 2014 (Thurs) – Dammit!

Dammit DollOK, I guess I better explain. Nothing bad has happened and no, I am not pissed off at my doctor, diagnosis or side effects. OK, maybe a bit perturbed at the latter. But that is nothing new. And I have not have slipped into my dad’s persona with his favorite epithet whenever he hit his thumb with a hammer. Ooh, not sure I’ve ever used that word in print before. And it might have been dagnabbit anyway.

Nope, the Voodoo doll to the left is known as a “dammit” doll. It was a gift from some good friends. The following are the official instructions on the loin cloth. And no, I know what you are thinking, unlike a Scottish kilt, there is nothing under the loin cloth.

“When you want to kick the desk, or throw the phone and shout, here’s a little Voodoo doll you cannot do without. Just grasp it firmly by the legs, and find a place to slam it, and as you poke it with a pin,Β  yell ‘Dammit, Dammit, Dammit!'”

The good news is I have had very little reason to make use of this accessory from an old James Bond movie. 10 points if you can name which one. No, I am holding it in reserve for when I might really need it. And the best result would be if this only ended up being a den conversation piece. Notice all of the pins are still in the original location – the right lung.

For those of you on Facebook, you’ve probably already seen the photo to the right. Every month I go in for my uncle-doc appointment followed Bone Juice 4-24-13byΒ an infusion of Zometa. Zometa is designed to help strengthen bones by sorta placing a sheath around them. My doc describes it like wrapping flypaper around the bones. And since bones can be weakened by cancer, we really don’t want me to step off the curb and have my spine snap in half. OK, that was a bit gross. But it drives home the point and is the reason why I am more than glad to offer up my arm once a month. And speaking of my onc-doc, everything is still good-to-go. My weight is good (or in my opinion bad), BP good, blood test results good, and no pain or other symptoms except for a slight hip tightness I will blame on getting old or playing softball. Let’s assume that is the case.

GlowbodyBut I will finally be getting another light-up-my-body PET scan in the next week or two. Apparently my body is no longer glowing (aww) from the radiation treatment back in December. And since we are no longer searching for our missing cat, this will be purely a clinical test. I’m hoping that it will prove that the hip issue above is strictly the result of geezeritis. As my son might say to his guitar, stay tuned. Oh yuck.

A recent article several of you sent my way appeared in the local paper: http://www.utsandiego.com/news/2014/apr/20/cancer-velcade-cheresh-seguin-ucsd/. Very encouraging news for those of us facing the ultimate failure of Tarceva to keep the cancer at bay. But the game-plan still holds as it did for our cheerleader ladies (OK, plus one guy) back in high school: “push ’em back, push ’em back, waaaayy back!” There is so much research being done, especially for those of us with genetically indicated versions, that there is lots of hope and Stomp fuzzyoptimism for new treatments not too far off in the future. I just have to keep shoving Fuzzy to the ground with my foot on its throat. I like that image. And here it is once again for the visual:

And I would be remiss if I did not thank each and every one of you that will be joining Team Craig – Get Fuzzy on the walk a week from Sunday or have made a donation to our team. We are kicking some serious behind as the leading team in walkers/funds raised. But we could always use more, so here is the obligatory pitch for those of you that would still like to help out. Just click on the logo below and it will take you to the sign up page. You guys have been awesome!Team Craig Logo - final (Small)

Business as usual. Day at a time.

11 thoughts on “April 24, 2014 (Thurs) – Dammit!

  1. As for the voodoo doll movie…..gotta be Live and Let Die…but only the first half of that title applies to you my old geezer friend Craig. Although you have almost guilted me in joining your walk, I do have a teacher worthy excuse…..will be up in Arrowhead with 9 teacher girlfriends doing plenty of arm exercising…..including throwing…… (the empty bottles out).
    See you next month on the 17th at PnB.

    Reply
    • Thanks Lynne. I appreciate your donation. With all of these side effects, I might take your “go, go, go” comment wrong. πŸ™‚ But I get it! Looking forward to lunch.

      Reply
  2. Dammit Craig πŸ™‚ ~ You are the funniest guy for a CFO (You are the CFO, right) Usually those types have a different approach to humor πŸ™‚ Congrats on the Team Craig ~ Evidently, you have fundraising talents too! Bring the Dammit Doll to the P & B and well all have a go of it – Until then my friend, thanks for the invitation ~ Ill take a rain check til next year. And…next year…Let me do the shirts for you! It would be a privilege. BFN~My friend> KLP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

