March 31, 2014 (Mon) – “If you obey all the rules, you miss all the fun.”

Katherine HepburnSpoiler alert: This blog will not be about cancer. You know, ya gotta take a break now and then from that topic. And since there really is no significant change in my diagnosis/treatment/bodily functions…oops. Sorry, TMI. But in any case, status quo is a good thing and we’ll leave any further updates for another day.

Many of you might be familiar with this saying from Katherine Hepburn. You can look at this a whole lotta different ways. We shall discuss alternative interpretations of this phrase later in the body of this discourse. OK, even I have to gag at that last sentence. Sometimes my fingers fall prey to college writing essay style where you just throw in stuff that sounds intelligent. But you and I know that my blog style rarely includes words with more than three syllables.

Squirrel!

All right, I admit. I’m a major rule follower. Unless of course, as you know, you include the 4 years I spent in Isla Vista. So we wiPlaying safell leave those out of this equation for now. As a goody three-shoes in high school, I never cut class, had a crew cut for sports, never drank, and always wore regulation clothing. This was back in ’66-’70 after all. Jeans and shorts not allowed, believe it or not. Long hair that slightly covered your ears, or one sip of beer, was enough to get you cut from the football team. Enough with the dress and behavior code though.

And I’ve always been a planner. Back in the day (eek, that really makes me sound old), my glove compartment was jammed with all sorts of fold-up maps. Yes, maps. You remember those, right? Right? 40 years before GPS. Had to know exactly where I was going. At all times. Heaven forbid I might make one wrong turn. Plus no way I was going to stop and ask for directions. I am a guy after all.

And cheat on a tests? Oops, forgot we were leaving out college years. Let’s skip that one. And it may be difficult for many of my friends, coworkers and fellow Rotarians to believe, but I was, and still am to a degree, a pretty shy guy. I know, I can hear some of you saying “yeah, right.” And the pictures below would seem to attest and support that disbelief. But bear with me.

This journey for the past year has taught me to live one day at a time. Of course, that is not news since that is how I’ve signed off 72 prior posts. But I’ve also learned to be less concerned about about what people might think as enjoying life and having fun have taken even a higher priority than BCD (before cancer diagnosis). So the rules I’m talking about breaking are not the legal ones that will get you into hot water with the Gendarmes. I’m talking about behavior rules that might limit your enjoyment of life. Be silly, be crazy (or crazier), do the unexpected, be unafraid to step outside your comfort zone. What’s gonna happen? Someone might laugh? Wonderful. That is the ultimate goal. Trust me, my previous comfort zone would CAB Collage1not have supported my endeavors as evidenced in these pictures.

OK, I am cheating slightly in that most of these were taken long before the life altering news a year ago. So I learned to be a little off-the-wall earlier on. Much of my efforts and dress-up, as many of you know, were in the course of working with kids with cancer. And making them laugh is exactly the goal. Yet the elf/jester outfit (in the upper right corner of the pic and courtesy of the Old Globe) is worn every year at our Rotary holiday luncheon, in front of 300 of the most influential and high level business people in town. So what? They love it, the seniors invited by our club each year love it, and what the hell, I love it. Have fun, allow other people to laugh and have a good time, and make a memory. Life would be awfully boring if you didn’t step outside your box now and then. Oh, BTW, I have probably 3x more pictures that are not in this collage. Most involve wearing a dress. Don’t ask. I think it has to do with being as out-there as possible. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Forgive the sales pitch, but I will include a quick reminder each blog until May 4th about the T-shirtupcoming Breath of Hope Walk that I am participating in. If you can make it, I’d love to have you join “Team Craig – Get Fuzzy” on what is a very casual 5K stroll down near the bay. If you can’t make it, I’d appreciate your assistance at any level to support our team, lung cancer awareness and the Moores Cancer Center at UCSD. Some of you have already joined the cause – thank you! But I know lots more of you can and will support this effort – why not just click now? Let’s put some peer pressure on the other teams to meet our challenge early on. Thanks!

Business as usual. Day at a time.

Leave a Reply

