March 8, 2014 (Sat) – I’m Having an Affair

AffairLet’s clear this up right away. Unless you think I’m typing this from beyond the grave, the type of affair I’m talking about is not the Dr. Phil spill-your-guts version. If it had been, my wife would have taken care of business and she’d be currently collecting that life insurance policy I spoke about earlier.

So what (not who, thank you) am I having an affair with? It’s certainly not the gym, having only had two dates with that entity in a year. I have cheated a bit lately having dabbled in a dalliance with some donuts courtesy of my boss who brought them in to a company meeting. Some warm Krispy Kremes would temp anyone to stray, right? And yes, I will admit to falling off the wagon about once a year and entertaining a bunch of old Twilight Zone reruns back-to-back-to-back, just as I am doing right now while pecking out this blog. And if Groundhog Day sidles up and nuzzles my DVR, I will give in to temptation and drop everything to watch it (for the 30th time). I could watch that over and over. Oops.

No, the affair I am talking about having is with everyday life.

I probably just lost half of you. That last line would indicate that I might continue in this vein and bore you to tears with the rest of this essay. Well, from my perspective, boring is the operative word. I now have a whole new appreciation for the daily stuff that is just part of everyday life. Even the mundane. OK, before you give me any well-earned grief, I do not categorize annual trips to Hawaii as mundane. mundane lettersThat is a wonderful anomaly. But getting up on a Sunday morning, grabbing a cup of coffee and the paper (remember, I’m a dinosaur and still read the printed version) delivers a renewed sense of enjoyment that I had taken for granite. Oops. Granted. Still have our kitchen remodel on the brain. That wasn’t so mundane either I suppose.

Likewise, just having a couple of friends over for a glass of wine, even if it isn’t Rombauer, and something that happens on a regular basis, now provides a whole different perspective on what it means to enjoy life to the fullest. It seems like a simple thing, and something we all do, yet to me, it now means everything. Of course, that is a bit of a metaphor, yet every daily encounter with what might be termed “just stuff,” is no longer just stuff. It’s life. And I’m damn glad to be partaking. And that’s a different type of partaking than I referred to from my college days.

BoxingAlright, enough philosophizing. Those of you that I bore on Facebook know that I was recently the recipient of a very cool 61st B-Day gift courtesy of a couple brothers and my sister-in-law. They conspired to talk Nonito Donaire Jr. into autographing a boxing glove for my birthday last month, personalized to me and my “Get Fuzzy” battle. Nonito is a four-division world champion and the former IBF, WBO, The Ring Super Bantamweight Champion. His manager tried to brush off my sister-in-law but she was not taking no for an answer. And Nonito was very accommodating. What a very cool birthday present.

On another note, I was somewhat disappointed that nobody either noticed, commented on, or solved the secret code I inserted in my last blog. Go back and take a look at my booking picture. It is actually quite obvious and you don’t even need your secret decoder ring. What a sneaky way to gain additional blog views, eh?

On the medical front, I am scheduled for my next brain MRI on Monday the 17th, St. Patty’s Day. How ’bout a little luck of the Irish on 4-leaf cloverthat day? What do you say?

Business as usual. Day at a time.

12 thoughts on “March 8, 2014 (Sat) – I’m Having an Affair

  1. You gotta publish your blogs – for a variety or reasons. Incidentally, following up on one of your recent references about the ‘Fugitive,’ everyone remembers Dr. Kimble, the wife killer, but does everyone remember the name & rank of the cop who chased him down to the very end? Do you? (no fair peeking on Wilkipedia now).
    Good luck on Monday.
    Bruce

    Reply
  2. Inspiring entry and you give all the more reason for all of us to live each day to the fullest….be it mundane, routine or great adventures. I wake up early every morning just to enjoy a sunrise and the quiet….feel happy I can do it each day. Come March 17th, look to the rainbow and kiss the Blarney Stone….all of we Leprechauns will be wishing and smiling for you 🙂 Have a great day Craig!

    Reply
  3. Great “life perspective” for each of us, Craig – Thanks!!! We continue to pray for you & your Docs each day, and we feel God answering each time you post favorable test results. We will look for real good results on the 17th!! Keep up your awesome spirit, friend. Hi to Kim, too!

    Reply
  4. Glad – you are doing well. Best of luck on MRI – I have to check in every three months. Awesome gift, the boxing glove. I started watching Breaking Bad during my treatments and loved it! Received a signed poster from Bryan Cranston via my sister which I cherish! Great thoughts in your blog – every moment is always a gift – enjoy!

    Reply
  5. Criag,
    praying for good news after the test on monday. Keep on the fight, we are in awe of your strength, you have lots of people in your corner, you are the best….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

