December 24, 2013 (Tues) – Bam! Pow! Zap!

Batman and RobinOnce again, you gotta be a fan, or at least 55 years old, to get this one. When Batman first came on the TV scene back in ’66, these were the lame balloon text bubbles that appeared above any fight sequence.

Of course, in my particular situation, “zap” has a whole different meaning. zap

At last review I had just gotten strip-measured for a new lower-body fitting in order to keep them errant zapping rays aligned to the bad-boy fuzzies.

This past Tuesday was my first, of what was to be 15 consecutive, zappings. The technicians had fun with a mark-a-lot connecting the tattoo dots all around my hip and other areas. Yes, other areas. They indicated this was to assist in the alignment of the enormous machine hovering just right of my crotch. I think they were just having fun at my expense like a 2nd grader might have when turned lose with markers. At least they weren’t tattoos. And Kim ended up adding her initials anyway, essentially to claim ownership I suppose.

And if I had a spec of modesty left after the past 10 months, it is officially gone now. Of course all of the technicians are women and I have to wear a butt-crack gown for this procedure. At least they upgraded me to a side-crack gown. Little good it does when they virtually have to remove it for the zapping procedure. Eh, I just close my eyes and pretend I’m being tended to by Mick Jagger. Nah, even I’m not that much of a masochist.

So my radio-doc sees me after the 2nd treatment and indicates that he was going to reduce the zappings to 10 instead of 15. Seems I was handling the treatments well enough to boost the juice and do fewer of them. He warned me that I might feel a bit more fatigued. Check. He also warned me about my favorite side effect – the big D. I told him I probably would not be able to distinguish any additional issues from ones that the Tarceva was already treating me to.

So, as of today, Christmas Eve, I am 6 down with 4 to go. I finish up on New Year’s Eve. Yea, that means my treatment ends this year. Such a deal. And as of today, I am 3 days off pain meds. Yup, my hip pain has been significantly reduced. Those fuzzies must be taking it on the chin.

This may well be my final post of 2013. All I can say to all of you is: Thank You, Thank You, Thank You, for all of your positive thoughts, prayers, and words of encouragement. I never would have made the journey this far without the support of family and friends.

Here’s to a wonderful holiday season and New Year’s. And a healthy and prosperous 2014.

Business as usual. Day at a time.

14 thoughts on “December 24, 2013 (Tues) – Bam! Pow! Zap!

  1. A wish for a Happy and Healthier 2014 for you and your family! Thank you for sending out such humorous and inspiring blogs, your courage is evident. I don’t share this tidbit with many people, but I was diagnosed with a Menengioma back in 1983. I had surgery to remove it and because the surgeon could only cauterize the area near the brain stem, they wanted to radiate that area. I went for the markings on my head and they noticed a blister in one of the healing scars. I immediately went to the surgeons office, and found out I had an infection. They sent me directly to the hospital and operated. Turns out they had to cut away part of my skull because it was infected. (That explained why I continued to run a low grade fever after the first surgery) In any event the surgeon decided to wait a year before doing a cranioplasty, which ment that I had a soft spot in my head for a year! I had to wear a bicycle helmet to drive and do any physical activity. Think back to what helmets looked like in 1984 and it was quite a site to see me driving! I used to go every year immediately after the removal for an MRI to ensure the tumor was not growing back. Then every 5 years, and now every 10 years. So far, there’s been no re-occurrence. I was only 32 years old when first diagnosed and I was scared that I might die at such a young age and leave my family, I was not ready for that. I was lucky the tumor was not malignant, but I do have a good idea of what you are going through. Keep up the good fight my friend!

    Reply
    • Mike, I really appreciate you sharing your own story – pretty amazing. In the scheme of things, so far my ordeal has not been horrendous. When I read about what others are going, or have gone, through, I count my lucky stars. I know I’m in for a tough battle but with support from all of you, it will be a much easier one. Have a great New Year!

      Reply
  2. Merry Christmas to all the Blowers! Craig, it sounds like your doctors have everything under control. Ever onward to a full recovery! Love, Ann and Mike

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
  3. Craig…your 2013 blogs have helped so many people to get “life” into real perspective. YOUR positive attitude has also been a good treatment for YOU as well as others. Finally sat down on Christmas Eve to read your “YODCL#22” to my family….it is amazing how much you have done despite your pows, bams, and zaps. Hope 2014 will be the best ever for you Mr. FOB…father of the bride. Happy New Year Craig to you and your family.

    Reply
  4. Hi Craig!

    Good riddens to the fuzzies; may you forever be rid of them, and may 2014 be your best year ever!

    Happiest of New Year’s :), there is much to be thankful for 🙂 Love & peace, M2♥♥

    Reply

Leave a Reply

