November 25, 2013 (Mon) – Mum’s the Word…Not!

SsshhhI know, after a month of silence, two blogs in two days. What’s gotten into me? I should more appropriately, if not more accurately, say “what’s gotten outta me.”

If you remember from August, my radio-doc was apparently not pleased that he wasn’t the first to give me good news on my brain MRI. As the ordering physician, it really was his responsibility to deliver the news, good or bad. Well, I hope he is not a subscriber to my blog, otherwise he is going to get pissed once more. So keep it on the down-low, would you?

MRI resultsHad my brain MRI this morning and my uncle-doc appointment early this afternoon. Thanks to modern technology, my results were already on-line for the doc to see. No Evidence of Disease (N.E.D.) once again, thank you very much. For some of you, you may not have even had time to read yesterday’s post. For those of you in med school, here is the official reading →

I should have the other half of this equation, the P.E.T. scan, scheduled in the very near future. No reason to think it won’t come back just as squeaky clean.

Walking with caneBut the hip is still a blip. A blip of increasingly painful proportions. So my onc-doc, after further consideration, has opted to get a CT scan on that. Probably the last part of my anatomy that hasn’t been scanned. OK, maybe there is one other area but we won’t go there. And neither will the scan.

But the doc wants to double-confirm that what I’m experiencing is strictly an arthritis issue, nothing related to my illness or treatments. Thus, since one of the possible side effects of the monthly Zometa infusion treatments is hip pain, he cancelled my appointment for that procedure today. He wants to rule out any kind of osteonecrosis. OK, I officially hate the last 3 syllables of that word. Reminds me of the Body Snatchers or some other film where something is feeding off dead flesh. Yum. It will be rescheduled once we know for sure that the Z-stuff is not a contributing factor.

Since the hydrocodone/acetaminophen was only offering limited relief, he prescribed cyclobenzaprine (Flexeril) to see if that might help a bit. The combo of the two really is making me drowseghtldsf;khrkha;ljgajgadgawetahaergdga……………….

Sorry, nodded off and my head decided to try its hand at typing. Probably ’bout a wash when compared to my regular pyting skills.

OK, that should hold you for a while. Just thought I’d get in a good word.

Business as usual. Day at a time.

9 thoughts on “November 25, 2013 (Mon) – Mum’s the Word…Not!

  1. This is AWESOME news! Yay for Craig Blower and your amazing attitude. We will continue to think positive thoughts for your upcoming scan of the hip. What a great way to go into the Thanksgivukkah holiday. We are all grateful that you continue to thrive! Hugs to you both.

    Reply
  2. What great news! Thanks for sharing! Much to give thanks for this Thanksgiving!
    Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

    Reply
  3. THAT ‘S WONDERFUL NEWS ! I just love NED and I am so happy he is your close Friend these days. Since you work in the area of Science…could you Please clone NED and send his twin over my way. I could really use some of NED’s help right now and Always. Wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving ~ I am giving thanks for your good news

    Reply
  4. This is great news, Craig – I’m sure it made for a wonderful Thanksgiving. I’ve no doubt a significant amount of your success in this battle is due to your extremely positive attitude and approach – keep it up!. Sending you and your family all our very best.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

