July 22, 2013 (Mon) – Life’s a Glitch

No, not the other word that rhymes with glitch. That would come across as a whine, which is definitely not my intent. No, this blog is about dealing with things that happen to you, whether it be a flat tire, a kitchen remodel gone astray (more on that later) or being diagnosed with cancer. They are all glitches. Granted, some are a bit more “glitchy” than others, but a glitch nonetheless.

So I realize that this editorial is competing with the royal baby news today. But hey, that kid doesn’t even have a name yet. C’mon! Besides, you haven’t been subjected to one of my bloganations in several weeks. So who you gonna pay attention too anyway? OK, maybe I don’t want an answer to that question. But the fact that you are reading this (you are, aren’t you?) tells me you have already gotten the royal treatment out of your system for the time-being.

So, glitches. They abound in daily life. You forgot trash night and your cans are overflowing. Your wife finally beats you at ping pong. Yes, it actually happened. You go out to pick up the morning paper (yes, some of us dinosaurs still read a printed version) and walk right through a major spider web. OK, that particular glitch WOULD drive me up the wall. Or your doctor says you have lung cancer. I know you are saying “yeah right, Craig, getting cancer is a glitch. What are you smoking?” Well, you know I’m a non-smoker so that ain’t it. But I have come to realize that it isn’t the challenge you are facing at the moment, be it worrying that a spider is crawling through your hair (eech) or whether your next cancer scans will come back clean. No, it’s the way you respond to those glitches that tells the tale.

So I’ve made a big point about considering everything other than my illness being small stuff. And, of course, every other challenge does pale by comparison. Yet, I’ve had a tough time following my own set of guidelines now that my wife and I decided to move forward with our kitchen remodel. Those of you that have had some remodeling done can attest to the fact that it is a very calming and stress-free endeavor. OK, now I must be smoking something. Well, everything was on track after day one. In fact here are some before pictures and a couple during demo and after the old kitchen was sent packing:

IMG_5284IMG_528307151310030715131449

Well, on day two it was discovered that there had been an error in one of the wall measurements and the cabinetry and counter tops that had been designed for that wall would no longer work. I have to say I went a little ballistic when my wife told me that night. The doc-onc says to avoid stress but I wasn’t doing a very good job at following doc’s orders. So I went to bed early while my wife called the contractor and he and the cabinet guy worked into the night to come up with an alternative plan. To their credit they are making everything right and we will enjoy the new re-design. But I was (OK, still am) sweating this less-than-life-altering glitch. My wife, the extreme overseer of this project, keeps telling me to not worry, that everything will work out just fine. She is doing her best to keep the stress away from me. I’m just not quite letting that happen. But she has absorbed so much that she told me the other day that she had forgotten I had cancer. As did I.

But it’s a glitch. And there will be more to come during the course of this project, as all of you former re-modelers know. Breaks of the game. And there may very well be glitches down the road as far as my health is concerned. As good as I am feeling right now, that is hard to imagine, but I also know I’m still in for a battle.

So today was my scheduled monthly appointment with my doc-onc. Of course he was pleased that I continued to maintain my weight since our last meeting. Glad he was happy. Must be those carne asada burritos. Everything on track for the moment. He also is setting up another light-my-body-up PET scan in the near future. Remember the Geiger counter story? And since we are still missing our cat, it will include a cat scan. That will pair up with the brain MRI scheduled for August 12th.

Following my doc meeting I walked over for my monthly infusion dose of Zometa, that drug to help strengthen bones potentially weakened by cancer. Of course they didn’t have a record of my appointment. Just another glitch. We worked it out. This time the tech got the IV started on the first try. Last time I think I had a rookie as it took three tries and a subsequent black and blue arm. And that was a glitch. So what side effect will hit me this time? A roll of the dice. Stay tuned as I know you are just dying to find out.

So life is full of glitches. Don’t let ’em get to you. Deal with it and move on. ‘Cuz you know another is just around the corner. Even if it’s a permanent glitch. You can melt away like the Wicked Witch of the West, or deal with it and move forward. And keep moving forward.

Now, about that spider…

Business as usual. Day at a time.

11 thoughts on “July 22, 2013 (Mon) – Life’s a Glitch

  1. Sounds like if you bought a lottery ticket you just might win since you seem to be getting everything else that can happen!

    Home late afternoon… Always room “at the neighborhood” inn.

    Ellen Knight 858 774-1589

    Reply
  2. Yep, I didnt get the memo about “glitches” growing up. Either that or I didnt ‘want’ to get the memo! LOL! I have a glitch – “an achy breaky (broken) heart” glitch. Sometimes, I forget about my glitch, too. Good thing to remember….just get back up brush off and carry on…my glitches have done one other thing for me…made me a more loving empathetic grateful person. So, if a glitch can have benefits – then maybe that’s a good thing? (Did I just say that??!) Take good care, my friend

    Reply
  3. Craig, thanks for the update. Sorry about the kitchen glitch. I know how much of a headache that can be. It sounds like you are taking it in stride.

    It was great seeing you!

    Keep up the positive vibes!

    Ed

    Craig Blower update – Get Fuzzy! (now Fuzzies) wrote: > craigblower posted: “No, not the other word that rhymes with glitch. > That would come across as a whine, which is definitely not my intent. > No, this blog is about dealing with things that happen to you, whether > it be a flat tire, a kitchen remodel gone astray (more on that lat” >

    Reply
    • Thanks Ed. I appreciate the note. It was good to see you as well the other day. Stay tuned for more kitchen updates. Things should start happening in earnest soon!

      Reply
  4. Take care, philosopher Craig. You are sending out good advice on dealing with glitches. All the best to you as you deal with your glitches.
    Thor

    Reply
  5. Craig, you are truly amazing. I read your blogs while half- holding my breath. And you never let me down. Glitches are a part of life for all of us. You lead by example, and I will continue to follow you. Thanks for including us in your journey.
    Lori Cotterell

    Reply
    • Thanks for your note Lori. Been hard-pressed for content for my blog unlike earlier in my journey. Things have been going too well. 🙂 Take care.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

