May 22, 2013 (Wed) – Life in perspective. Especially today.

IMG_5231

Sorry everyone, tonight will not be one of my more witty blogs.

Some of you know that for the past 7 summers I have volunteered as a camp counselor at Camp Ronald McDonald for Good Times, a camp for kids with cancer and their siblings. Somewhat ironic, yes I know. (Super) Dylan was one of the campers I had in my cabin for the past two summers. He was by far one of the bravest people of any age I have ever met. I had no idea how much he had been going through in his own battle with cancer. We had to crisscross camp several times a day in the hot sun and Dylan never once complained. When I found out after camp the issues he was having to deal with, I was amazed he was at camp at all.

IMG_4474

Here’s a video just so you know why I was in love with this brave little soul:

We lost a good one this morning. He was my hero and inspiration. And whenever I think I’m having a tough day, I will always think of Dylan and the brave kid he was. And everything will pale in comparison.

14 thoughts on “May 22, 2013 (Wed) – Life in perspective. Especially today.

  1. Craig, I am so sorry. Dylan looks and sounds like a wonderful boy. What a loss. Thank you for sharing. I can only imagine how hard it is to lose him.

    Take care,

    Ed

    Craig Blower update – Get Fuzzy! (now Fuzzies) wrote: > craigblower posted: ” Sorry everyone, tonight will not be one of my > more witty blogs. Some of you know that for the past 7 summers I have > volunteered as a camp counselor at Camp Ronald McDonald for Good > Times, a camp for kids with cancer and their siblings. Somewhat iro” >

    Reply
  2. It looks like little Dylan has been a blessing to all who know him. Young spirits like his provide us with a noble message of hope and joy and a conviction that life is best lived in the moment.
    Thinking of his family and all the lives he touched soaring through his battle with cancer.
    Nancy C

    Reply
  3. And, we thought we were through the tears. What an inspiration! Thanks for sharing…. He is finally out of pain and at peace.

    Ellen Knight 858 774-1589

    Reply
  4. Inspiration knows no age limits. How sad to lose such a wonderful boy — far too young. We are reminded too often how fragile life really is. I am sure you, Craig, made a huge difference in his life.

    Reply
  5. Oh Craig, thank you so much for sharing Dylan’s story. Thank you for being there for him. I am sending my thoughts to his parents and family. I am glad to know of his sweet spirit.

    Tammy

    Reply
  6. Oh Craig, that is so precious. I really think that God is calling His Angels home sooner than we want Him to but what a beautiful little boy. My prayers are with his family during this difficult time. Bless you for the work you do with those children. 🙂 You make a profound difference in their lives.

    Reply
  7. Craig – I’m so very very sorry – for you, his family and his friends. I can’t make sense of things like this. A cliche, but so very true, he will live on with you and everyone who knew him and now, those of us who never met him but fell a little in love watching that video.

    Reply
  8. I am so sorry for your loss Craig. What an awesome little guy Dylan was. May you find Peace in knowing how much you influenced each others lives. That’s what it’s all about. Xo

    Reply
  9. I’m sorry to hear the news about Dylan. He would be happy to know that you are able to draw strength from his experience and get another view on things. Be sure to HIT (Hang In There).

    Reply
  10. Oh Craig, I’m so sorry. Dylan looks like such a little “pistol”! Yes, do keep him in mind. Isn’t it amazing how someone so young can be so brave and so wise. Isn’t it serendipitous that you volunteered at the cancer camp, to get that preview, and some tips…

    Reply
  11. Wow… What a ray of sunshine Dylan was! Thank you for the excellent reminder to squeeze as much enjoyment as possible out of every day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

