May 9, 2013 (Thurs) – Brains, bands and bristles

OK, the brain part is simple. I have one (although some of you may disagree). It had a tumor. I still have a brain. Now it doesn’t have a tumor. Or least anything visible to the naked eye. Or my naked eye in any case. And whose naked eye counts anyway? And what would Freud say about why they call it naked? Sorry, got sidetracked. It’s not like I have anything on my mind. OK, that’s a double or triple entendre.

As you all know, my brain MRI came back clean, or about as clean as I could have hoped for. But that news came via a phone call. But we met with our radio-studying doc yesterday so now I have proof-positive:

MRI Before & After

What d’ya think of them apples? Or non-apples? I’m working on getting the last two lung x-rays that show a similar result. I’ve seen them but neglected to ask for copies. And I can’t blame my forgetfulness on my brain tumor anymore. Old age would be a more realistic excuse.

OK, the bands. Today, one of our Rotarians, who had her own family cancer experience, stood up at our Rotary meeting, and offered a white “No One Fights Alone” wrist band for anyone that wanted one in support of my journey. She quickly ran out of the stock she had purchased. What an awesome gesture. Thank you Solveig! And thank you Rotarians for your continued support. Heck, even our ex-ex-mayor came up and fist-bumped me afterwards in white-bracelet solidarity. Very cool!

OK, bristles. Actually this may not be the best word but I needed some alliteration for the title to work. This refers to my continuing challenge with prickly pears, or my stalking acupuncturist. All of your Z-I-T cheers in an earlier blog were very successful with my face breaking out very nicely. Nicely? In any case, I sprouted quite a bit. Now, however, due to my body getting used to the medication or the antibiotics I am taking, the zits are mostly gone. Gone from my face. But the ants are returning to my head and my arms now look like I have been using poison oak soap. OK, that’s a slight exaggeration but the measles-looking rash is definitely moving downstream. Uh, let’s hope it stays in the extremities, thank you. But I’m not far away from replacing my T-shirt with a long sleeve shirt so that I can slather up the arms too. That will go well with the cotton socks I’m already wearing and the cotton gloves not too far down the road. One of these days I’ll take a picture and we can all share a laugh. Or at least you can.

Tomorrow we are meeting with the kitchen contractor we had been working with in planning for our kitchen renovation we had originally anticipated starting in June. Well, when the proverbial fan was struck with some fecal matter (keeping this clinical now) back in February, everything was put on hold. So we are revisiting our options now that I seem to be in a nice holding pattern. Stay tuned.

Business as usual. Day at a time.

11 thoughts on “May 9, 2013 (Thurs) – Brains, bands and bristles

  1. Outstanding news again and truly a miracle! I will wear my white band today and smile everytime I look at it my friend 🙂

    Reply
  2. AMEN! Craig! I missed giving you a Hug at Rotary yesterday – I saw you at a distance – then afterwards I missed you and by the time I saw Solveig your White Braclets were all spoken for. I have a asked her to save one for me when her new stock arrives. Sending you, Kim and family continued prayers and a BIG HUG! AMEN!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the great pics of the brain…it’s a miracle of many sorts. RE: the ants on the head -and the rash…I wonder if in part that’s your kidneys reacting to and processing the meds…poor things..imagine what they have to filter in a lifetime! You’re a good man, Craig …this world needs more CB’s. God aint done with you, yet!

    Reply
  4. I just ordered more wrist bands!!! They were “selling” like hotcakes yesterday!! So happy to see the strong showing of support for Craig!!!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for sharing the great news! Tony & I are so happy for you.

    From: Craig Blower update – Get Fuzzy! (now Fuzzies) [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] Sent: Thursday, May 09, 2013 10:23 PM To: cbattag@san.rr.com Subject: [New post] April 9, 2013 (Thurs) – Brains, bands and bristles

    craigblower posted: “OK, the brain part is simple. I have one. It had a tumor. I still have one. Now it doesn’t have a tumor. Or least anything visible to the naked eye. Or my naked eye in any case. And whose naked eye counts anyway? And what would Freud say about why they ca”

    Reply
  6. Craig–it is great to see your progess. Reading your blog reminded me how the initial stages of this experience are so mentally challenging; it is like falling down a mountain with no ability to stop it as the bad news just keeps coming at you from every direction. The yin and yang of that, however, is how great it is when the news gets better and the hope gets stronger. Support and attitude are paramount and you obviously have both in abundance. Having played softball with you for so many seasons, I do have to say I am probably most surprised with the number of base hits you claim to be getting. Continued best of luck to you and Kim and the family.

    Alan Mann (17 year survivor of metastasized throat and lymph node cancer)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

